HOPE


wings“How are you?’
“Doin’ great.  Nobody’s told me any different so far.”

When I was younger, I thought I could do just about anything I set my mind to do.  I didn’t think I was invincible, but I thought the possibilities were endless.  More importantly, I wasn’t afraid to try new things.  I had to learn about my limitations the hard way–through experience–and no one could talk me out of trying.  Just because they couldn’t do it didn’t mean I couldn’t get it done.  If they said it was impossible, it became a challenge not an obstacle.  What happens to that “I can do this” attitude as we get older?
I am reminded of the movie, Finding Nemo, when Nemo’s father tells him, “You think you can do these things, but you can’t.”  How many times do we let everyone around us dictate what our capabilities are?
I had a high school guidance counselor tell me that I would never amount to anything and I would definitely never get into college. That statement just made me more determined to show him that he was wrong.  I did go to college and did finish a degree.  It took me twenty-five years but I got it done.  That may have been what his goal was in telling me that, but he wasn’t alone in his statement.  Throughout my early years I had several influential people telling me basically the same thing.  My mom was the best at it.  It really wasn’t her fault.  She couldn’t picture herself doing something, so how could I?  Then I had to go out and prove that I could do it just to show her that one of us could get it done.
But now I am older and I have learned my limitations.  It is easier for me to believe that there are things I can not do.  Of course, there are things I would not try to do at my age.  One thing I have always wanted to do was to run up to the side of a building, take two or three steps up the wall and execute a back flip, landing on my feet.  I may have to skip that one, but I still consider it from time to time.  Like Clint Eastwood’s line from Magnum Force, “A man’s got to know his limitations.”
It all comes down to believing.

Mark 9:23 Jesus said to him, If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.

Luke 1:37 For with God nothing will be impossible.

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

Now I know that these particular scriptures are so over quoted that they are nearly thread bare, but simply consider this:

To have hope you must believe in something.  Believing builds your faith.  If YOU believe, it is possible.  It doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks.

Without hope it is impossible to believe.  Without believing it is impossible to have faith.  Without faith you have no hope and nothing to believe in.

©  Simply Consider This, 2013.

Leave a Reply

