WHEN LIFE HAS SUCKED THE LIFE OUT OF YOU


at wits endWhen life has sucked all the life out of you
When there is nothing you can say
When there is nothing you can do
When overwhelmed by more than you can stand
When all emotions are emptied from inside
When your heart is so heavy with grief
When in the night there is no sleep
When all you have tried has failed
When all around you portrays hell
Storm’s raging turmoil
Tortures the essence of your being
There is no comfort to be found
Darkness will not relent, determined to destroy
Weariness encamps around about you
Like fountains overflowing, tears freely fall

Broken, bruised the spirit cries out to be heard
Desperate the soul bitterly weeps for peace
Jesus, Jesus, whispered oh so tenderly
From lips that can barely speak
I worship You, Oh Holy One
I worship You, Oh Holy One
In the midst of this raging storm
I worship You
Knowing there is nothing the soul it’s self can repair
There is nothing the spirit by it’s self can restore
But God, Your presence, Your presence!
It is all I have, it is all I need
It is my all in all –
The world swirls around my mind
Blinding my eyes from Your beauty –

Jesus!  Jesus!  Cries my heart – come sweet Holy Spirit
Come!!  Come to this desert place in which I dwell
Come rain, Come rain gently
Your peace upon this parched wounded heart
Seeking solace, Seeking You
I know You will be found
It is there, there in You alone
My soul finds peace, my spirit is restored
It is there in Your presence, Oh my God!
Oh my Savior, My King,
The Restorer, the Life Giver!
I come seeking You and only You!
I come, I come waiting, I come praising
I come to worship You – longingly
Oh My God longing for You!!
Refreshing renewal, like rain to the thirsty ground
You come to me
Drinking in Your Presence – I breathe in once again, Life
Rising up from the ashes, soaring like the eagle
You Oh God, have given me wings to take flight
With You I soar, with You I find relief
Nothing can ever compare
Oh the sweetest of Your Presence!

©  Simply Consider This, 2013.

Leave a Reply

