IN THE NIGHT


archangel1In the quiet stillness of the night
I hear my name.
With eyes opened, I look around
Everyone is sleeping.
I wait to hear but no sound is made
I close my eyes once more.

From the foot of the bed,
I hear breathing
A foul stench fills the room
Filled with fear, I begin to shake
I try to cry out but no sound comes
I dare not open my eyes.

The breathing seems to get closer
I try, but can not open my eyes
All my muscles are tensed with fear.
With lips clinched and jaw set
I try to cry out
I groan “Jesus” in my throat

Light flashes through my eyelids
Shrieks ring out
I try to look but now
my eyes are held shut
The shrieks subside
The stench is gone

My body goes limp
I open my eyes only slightly
To see a slowly fading light
A sweet aroma fills the room
A figure remains beside me
Peace flows freely

In the quiet stillness of the night
I hear my name
I open my eyes briefly
Then close them again
And say, “Thank you”
As I drift off to sleep

©  Simply Consider This, 2013.

One thought on “IN THE NIGHT

  1. I know this seems a little dark, but these things really do happen in the “spiritual” whether we want to admit it in the natural or not.

Leave a Reply

