TRUST


NAKBA0001-Palestinian_refugees_in_Oct_1948_nak...
Jeremiah 29: 10-13
10 This is what the Lord says: “When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my gracious promise to bring you back to this place.
11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.
I’m glad you know, Lord.  How about giving me a clue?
You said to Israel. “Live your life.  When I’m ready, I’ll come and get you.  After seventy years and I will give you back everything I took from you. When the time is finished you will pray to me and I will hear you, as long as you seek me with all your heart.”
How about now?  Seventy years.  Seventy months.  Seventy weeks.  Its all too long.  If I wait too long, I’ll lose that fire inside and the will to do what is right  I need to have hope now and a glimpse of what my future will be. If I don’t know where I’m going, how will I know when I get there, or even which direction to take to get there?  I can’t wait around forever.  I’m praying now, Lord.  Hear my prayer now.  I have sought you with all my heart and still I get no answer.  Does this really apply to me, now, or was it only for them, then?
We’ve heard this passage recited, preached and pounded into us over and over again.  Just hang on.  God has good things coming.  And so we wait.  We wait until we get frustrated and then wait some more.  We pray, study the scriptures , “seek His face and not his hands” and do a lot of other “Christianeze” things to move the hand of God and still we get no answer.  We know He exists.  We know He’s out there somewhere.  Why doesn’t he answer?  Are we that unimportant that He just ignores us until He decides the time is right?  Then if we are ready He will give us a glimpse of what is to come just to tease us? Is that how it works?  How are we supposed to know if we ARE ready?  What mystical equation does God use to figure all this out?
Unfortunately, as much as I hate to admit it, I don’t have all the answers.  From what little experience life has given me, it seems that it all comes down to a matter of trust.  Trust is very difficult for most humans to wrap their brains around.  Trust in a God they can not see, hear, taste, feel or smell is nearly impossible for a logical mind to comprehend.
For most of us, we can trust a Garmin or a Tom-Tom to give us direction better than we can trust a human. I live in a small town and the navigation systems do not give accurate directions to my house.  I have given directions to companies when they were delivering construction materials to my home and told them explicitly to tell the drivers not to follow their navigational devices. Then I  had to go get the driver and lead him to the house when he didn’t follow my directions.  I wonder if that is how frustrated that God feels with us sometimes.  I can almost hear Him saying, “You’re not listening you don’t understand.”
Naaman had a few questions when Elisha told him to wash seven times in the Jordan.  But he trusted the man of God.  When Jesus needed to pay the temple tax don’t you think Peter was just a little skeptical when Jesus told him to Love and Trust - Father tosses his confident d...
go catch a fish and it will be in his mouth? He might have been thinking, “Ooookay. That will work. Maybe.” Or maybe by that time Peter had already learned to trust Him enough to just do what He said and wait for the results.
God may tell us to do some things which make no logical sense, but He is just trying to get us to listen and follow directions.  Hearing His voice and following directions is the hard part.  Faith does not follow logic.  If we believe what He tells us in His word, then we need to demonstrate that when we get direction from Him.
His direction may not be what we would expect or when we want it, but, IF we are listening for the other side of the conversation when we talk to God, the answers will come.  We have to trust Him to do what He says He will do.  He said. “ 12Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”  Most of all we have to TRUST.
John 14:1 Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, trust also in me.
An oldie but goodie.  Now I think I understand just a little.
“Trust and obey.  For there’s no other way. To be happy in Jesus. But to trust and obey.”
©  Simply Consider This, 2013.
Leave a Reply

