JOY


playing on playground

playing on playground (Photo credit: Children First)

As I sat on my front porch today, thanking God for the minimal pain I was feeling in my old tired bones, I could hear the children in the schoolyard playing,  Their laughter and unbridled joy filled the air as they played their games of tag and kickball, swinging and sliding, climbing and running and laughing.  Taking a recess from the rigors of learning.
Then it occurred to me that I needed to play more.  I’m not sure exactly how to go about that at my age.  It has been years since I have played for the sake of playing.
My life is wrapped around the seriousness of life and when I’m not dealing with that at work, I am dealing with my “self“.  How to improve.  How to make an impact on my family and others. What can I do to be a better person, Christian, husband, father and friend?
Maybe I just need to take some time to play.  To laugh with unbridled joy.  To learn to enjoy the time I have instead of trying to improve it.  To look at life with an open mind instead of trying to figure it all out,  To believe with the innocence of childhood and to forgive like today is my last.  To become a child of God instead of a student.
© MC Andrews and Simply Consider This, 2013.

Leave a Reply

